

Years ago, before many of us started sailing, YRUSC promoted the PACIFIC OCEAN RACING CONFERENCE (PORC). It has now been resurrected as the Ocean Racing Championship (ORC) in the form of nine existing long distance open ocean races organized by YRUSC member clubs. The purpose of ORC is to promote and develop competitive ocean racing.

Skippers are recognized for their overall performance in the best four-of-nine listed ocean races. Contestants are divided into three handicap classes and are awarded points based on their performance in their respective handicap classes. A perpetual trophy is awarded to the winning skipper of each handicap class. The class winner with the highest point total is awarded the **BACCARAT** Trophy, the class winner with the second highest point total is awarded the **JACK FROST MEMORIAL** Trophy, and the class winner with the third highest point total is awarded the winners during the opening day ceremonies of their yacht clubs.

ORC ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible a skipper must finish a minimum of four of the designated ORC races. All qualifying races must be sailed using the same PHRF certificate. If more than four are sailed, the best four will be scored. Ties will be broken by the number of miles sailed in the best four finishes, then comparative times in the same races.

NO EXTRA FEE OR ENTRY FORM IS REQUIRED BY YRUSC. Interested skippers must contact the organizing Yacht Club to enter the race.

Race #	Date	Yacht Club	Race Name
1	January 2	DRYC	Malibu and Return
2	February 6-7	LAYC	Around Catalina
3	May 7	DRYC	Point Dume and Return
4	May 28-29	CBYC/DPYC	Around Catalina
5	May 29	OYC/SWYC	Oceanside to San Diego
6	July 9	SIBYC/DPYC	Seal Beach to Dana Point
7	July 29-30	SBYC/KHYC	Santa Barbara to King Harbor
8	September 3	SYC/DWYC/DPYC	Long Beach to Dana Point
9	October 7-8	SWYC	San Diego to Ensenada

2016 ORC Races